Our Homeless

Just less than a year ago my husband and I began creating care packages for the homeless. It seems no matter where we go in this nation there are homless everywhere. My heart breaks for those who are truly homeless and angered by this who are just panhandling for extra cash. 

Walking through the streets of Alexandria, D.C., Detroit, Royal Oak and Virginia Beach I’ve already seen countless people living on the streets and it breaks my heart!!! When people on social media get upset because our nation is allowing others here and they are saying we should take care of our homeless before anyone else. I offer them the opportunity to go to our go fund me site to offer even 5 dollars or 1, guess how many have reaponded? Zilch, zero, zip, none!!! Now of the 500 hundred “friends” on facebook, only three have helped! I am the, “Put your money where your mouth is.” It really is saddening. Many have a mouth to speak and talk while they are behind their devices, but when it is time to move forward they are only talk, no action.

Here in VA Beach this weekend and only been here one night and I was near the south end of the beach from 25th to 5th street there were at least 10 people that I counted who were laying on the street for the night. 

You can tell who a homeless person is from someone faking. A person who is not truly homeless gets upset when you take them out for a meal or bring food to them instead of cash. That is something I learned. 

Our supplies for our packages are out and I wish others had a willing heart to help. I pick up most supplies from the Dollar Tree and others from other stores for great deals! I wish there were another way to get better deals, but this is how it is now. How awesome would it be to employ them so they can help others!!! 

I’ve always had a heart for the homeless and wanted to someday own a large lot of land with homes and a training center to help train those who are willing to join the work force and get back on their feet along with counseling services to help those who need help with mental, emotional, or substance. I just don’t know where to begin or how to turn this dream into action. Hopefully soon, I will know what to do to help those who need our help. 

Are you willing to help?

Leave a Reply

